Jobless does not mean hopeless

I am going through a tough time personally. I left my job 4 months ago due to my work situation affecting my health and despite every effort cannot seem to be successful. Ever been there?

I sometimes get that exasperated feeling of what’s the point but all I know is I cannot give up. While looking locally with no reward do I look abroad and teach English as a foreign language in my effort to find an income? Maybe it’s an option. While I may be getting frustrated with every job board and every job posting removed. I have to keep telling myself all is not lost, keep looking. Try one more time my soul whispers.

So no I am not hopeless or helpless, just a job seeker that is trying to find her way in an economy going through a recession. I like 6 million others in my country are holding on to hope in a jobless wasteland.

Dear reader, if you have gone through what I am, please encourage me with how you triumphed in the midst of adversity? Definite support needed!

5 thoughts on “Jobless does not mean hopeless

  1. I wrote about something similar today. I haven’t worked in a long time, and I’m unlikely to ever work normally again. Consequently, I’ve had to redefine success in order to regain hope. Maybe a similar process will help you?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m in a similar situation now. Living by Bible principles is what’s helping me. The first thing I had to do was stop being so anxious. Luke 12:25,26 says, “Who of you by being anxious can add a cubit to his life span? If, therefore, you cannot do such a small thing, why be anxious about the remaining things?” I had to stop worrying so much over a situation that I could not control. I have to focus on doing my best in searching for a new job, updating my resume, writing an excellent cover letter and preparing well for the interview. Those are the things I can control. Philippians 4:6,7 reminds me of the importance of prayer. By asking Jehovah God for a calm heart, the strength to keep on searching and help wherever needed I gain peace. Lastly, Matthew 6:31-33 says, “So never be anxious and say, ‘What are we to eat?’ or, ‘What are we to drink?’ or, ‘What are we to wear?’ For all these are the things the nations are eagerly pursuing. Your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things. Keep on, then, seeking first the Kingdom and his righteousness, and all these other things will be added to you.” God is fully aware of your situation and knows what you need. I make sure to focus on spiritual things. That provides balance. Don’t doubt yourself or your abilities. Focus on what you can control and do your best. Something always comes along. Lastly, the jobs you don’t get, view them as a blessing. I’ve dodged quite a few bullets with jobs I didn’t get but later found out they would have been a terrible fit anyway. I hope this is encouraging. Happy job hunting.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. When we pray for Jehovah God’s help and work in harmony with our prayers by doing all we can do, God blesses us by taking care of the rest. I’ll be sure to keep you in my prayers and I hope things goes well during your interview.

        Like

Leave a comment